I’m sorry

Have you ever noticed that nowhere in Scripture are we ever told to say “I’m sorry”? That’s because we aren’t commanded or encouraged to do this. In fact, it seems to be the case that we shouldn’t say that. What does “I’m sorry” even mean? Does it mean “I know I did something wrong, and now I want you to know that I realize this.”? If so, that’s simply not biblical.

The bible encourages us to be reconciled to a brother (cf. Matt. 5:24). We are told to repent of our sin, and that means a changed life. Seeking forgiveness by forsaking sin, being reconciled to your brother or sister, and subsequently changing your behavior (cf. Matt. 3:8; 1 Thess. 1:9) is not only desired, but required. Saying sorry isn’t enough; seeking forgiveness is. I’m sorry, but you have to seek forgiveness biblically. It’s far easier to say “I’m sorry” than to seek forgiveness, but only one of these options can fulfill God’s standard of righteousness.

One thought on “I’m sorry

  1. You raise a good point about how we misuse the word Sorry.
    I would consider an apology to be an element of repentance. If all that is done is mumble the word sorry the act of repentance is incomplete.

Leave a Reply

