What to avoid when writing; or, things that I don’t want to read.

A few things frustrate me when I read a book. Conversely, these are a few things I try to avoid as I write.

#1: Using passive or stative voiced verbs when an active verb is available.

#2: Using prepositions after verbs when they are unnecessary.

#3: Using numerical lists that only have one point (i.e. “first” and no “second”).

#4: Prepositions appearing in the middle of sentence, when not for emphasis. I.e. “He went over the fence for fun to see the people.”

#5: the Absence or overly profuse use of “therefore,” “thus,” “so” and the like. Use them when appropriate but don’t overuse them.

One thought on “What to avoid when writing; or, things that I don’t want to read.

Leave a Reply

