Why This Has Been a Slow Week at the Blog

This week has been good but busy. I thought at the very least I could make a brief reflection on the joy of hectic ministry. I hope that this post will serve as a motivation and encouragement. Paul told the young pastor Timothy: “fulfill your ministry” (2 Timothy 4:5). Peter wrote to all believers,

“As each has received a gift, use it to serve one another, as good stewards of God’s varied grace: whoever speaks, as one who speaks oracles of God; whoever serves, as one who serves by the strength that God supplies—in order that in everything God may be glorified through Jesus Christ…” (1 Peter 4:10-11).

I have a young family, with an energetic pre-school daughter and a growing 7 month old son. They are truly gifts from God. Parenting children is however hard. The bundled energy, the sin natures, the lack of peace in the home, all challenge. Each week holds its own unique challenges and joys.

In my regular ministry, I am a pastor of a local church. I shepherd the flock, prepare and lead a weekly small group, administer the church affairs, prepare and preach the weekly sermon, prepare and organize the service, print the songsheets and bulletins, maintain the church website, edit and post the pod and vodcasts, adding to that our radio spots. I also moderate our Facebook page.

This week I added a few things. I am currently taking ThM studies and had some required assignments to complete, which took longer than expected. In addition I was asked to speak at a local Christian University’s spiritual emphasis conference on “The WIll of God”.

Our new Leadership Development Session has also started and I am working on the first of our monthly meetings. This mentored leadership program has a classroom component once per month, with 3 one hour instruction periods in Bible Survey, Theology, and Leadership, and also a practical hour workshop.

Working through this, I have had printer problems up to there (I say there, not here, because I can’t reach high enough to demonstrate!!).

This makes me sound really busy, and I suppose that I am. But I love every minute of ministry God has given me. But in a week like this, a well thought out blog just isn’t going to happen. So I will commend you to the blogs I read this morning:

Blogroll
1. http://www.Challies.com which has a great discussion about discernment in light of current events in the evangelical world.
2. My new favourite blog: http://www.thecripplegage.com where friends and people I deeply respect are team blogging. I commend this resource for your spiritual encouragement and growth.

Leave a Reply

